Saturday, 01 October 2011 17:00

Jake Spencer VERSUS Cian Fothergill in Pro Light (KF1) Title Fight!!!




There's now less than two weeks before the Grand Final of the CIK Stars of Karting presented by Castrol EDGE launches into action at the Mount Sugarloaf Raceway near Newcastle, NSW, and in the chase for the Pro Light (KF1) Title it’s a two horse race.

Victorian (Wantirna South, Vic) Jake Spencer leads reigning series champion Cian Fothergill (Gladstone, QLD) by a mere six points entering this month’s (Oct 15/16) final round.

The JAM Racing driver started this year with the aim of securing a podium finish in a round and possibly claim a top five championship finish – now he is in with a shot of etching his name in Australian Karting history as a winner of the James Courtney trophy.

“I can’t explain how much it would mean to me to get my name on the James Courtney trophy, when you look at the names who have won this championship before there’s a lot of great names there,” said Jake Spencer.


Coming in as the points leader, Spencer believes the pressure is on him more so than Fothergill in the title chase.

“The pressure is definitely on me going into the final round, especially after the last round when I lost a heap of ground in the points on Cian due to not finishing the first final,” said Spencer.

After a strong showing in the most recent round, also held at Newcastle, Fothergill is slightly confident of snaring his second consecutive Pro Light (KF1) Title.  If successful, he will become only the second driver in series history to complete the feat – the other being Barclay Holden (2003/2004).

“I had a bit of bad luck at the start of the year, which made life a bit harder than it should have been and it’s given me a real challenge to chase down the title,” said Fothergill.

“Hats off to Jake, he’s done a fantastic job all year and been very consistent but hopefully I can get away with the win and make it two in a row.”

The unfortunate delays with the resurfacing of the Eastern Creek venue that forced series organisers to relocate the final round to Newcastle, isn’t something that fazes Fothergill.

“Just quietly I did jump up and down when I heard the news given the speed that I’ve shown at Newcastle over the past couple of years in the series,” said Cian Fothergill.

While the leading duo will dice it out for the overall title, the race for third place is very tight with Grant Smith (Patterson Lakes, Vic), Matthew Waters (Horsley Park, NSW) , Adam Hughes (Mentone, Vic) and George Geranis (Wheelers Hill, Vic) set to battle it out.


presented by Castrol EDGE

Championship Points (After 4 of 5 rounds)
1. Jake  Spencer  266
2. Cian  Fothergill  260
3. Grant  Smith  219
4. Matthew  Waters  213
5. Adam  Hughes  203
6. George  Geranis  196
7. Joel  Smith  186
8. Jason  Hryniuk  178
9. Jacob  Parsons  163
10. Daniel  Rochford  163
11. James  Macken  160
12. Ben  Edwards  156
13. Aidan  Wright  154
14. Peter  Hollings  146
15. Scott  May  133
16. Daniel  Baker  131
17. Matthew  Erdmann  129
18. Elle  Brydon  127
19. Kris  Trotter  118
20. Daniel  Holihan  115
21. Cameron  Macqueen  103
22. Anthony  Vince  88
23. Arie  Hutton  82
24. Damien  Radosevic  50
25. Shay  Mayes  41
26. Matthew  Hayes  37
27. John  Martin  20